Hallo, Willkommen in unserem Online-Shop!

Bitte geben Sie unten Ihren Namen, Ihre Emailadresse und Anschrift an. Nachdem Sie auf Bestellung Abschicken geklickt haben, erhalten Sie eine Rechnung per Email. Ihre Sendung wird innerhalb von zwei Werktagen per Deutsche Post oder DHL verschickt.

Möchten Sie uns etwas zu Ihrer Bestellung mitteilen oder haben eine Frage? Dann schreiben Sie uns gerne eine Email.

0 of 0
Side Magazine: The Moped Rider
Yasmine d'O. (ed.)

Die zweite Ausgabe des Side Magazine widmet sich ...

Side Magazine: The Moped Rider
Yasmine d'O. (ed.)

Die zweite Ausgabe des Side Magazine widmet sich der vielfältigen Figur der Mopedfahrerin. Sieben Textbeiträge nähern sich ihr aus unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln. So folgt der Filmkritiker Lars Ole Kristiansen Nanni Moretti auf seiner Vespa durch Rom in dem Film Caro Diario (1993). Der Reprint des zweiten Kapitels von Michele Bernsteins autobiografischem Roman Alle Pferde des Königs (1960) erzählt von nächtlichen Streifzügen durch Paris, während sich Kristian Vistrup Madsen mit der wandelnden Intimität zwischen den nachdenklichen Figuren in Caspar David Friedrichs Gemäldezyklus Zwei Männer in Betrachtung des Mondes (1819-c. 1830) befasst. Yasmine d’O, die Herausgeberin des Magazins, unterhält sich indessen mit den Kuratoren Marcella Lista und Lou Ferrand über die Bewegungen von Besucher*innen in Ausstellungsräumen.

Mit Beiträgen von Haci Akman, Michèle Bernstein, Lou Ferrand, Pierre-Henry Frangne, Patrick Jagoda, Yasmine d'O., Lars Ole Kristiansen, Marcella Lista, und Kristian Vistrup Madsen.

Side Magazine ist das Publikationsorgan der vierten Bergen Assembly, einer norwegischen Triennale für zeitgenössische Kunst, die vom Künstler Saâdane Afif konzipiert wird. Mit jeder Ausgabe nimmt eine neue von insgesamt sieben Figuren Gestalt an, bis diese zur Ausstellungseröffnung im September 2022 gemeinsam die Bühne betreten.

www.bergenassembly.no

Herausgeberin: Yasmine d'O.
Konzept: Saâdane Afif
Design: Neue Gestaltung, Berlin
7€
August 2021
ISBN 978-3-948200-08-4
28 x 21 cm
84 Seiten
Zahlreiche s/w- und Farbabbildungen.
Englisch
Rückstichheftung

0 of 0
Stephanie Oursler
5 Cuts

Ursprünglich im Selbstverlag in kleiner Auflage...

Stephanie Oursler
5 Cuts

Ursprünglich im Selbstverlag in kleiner Auflage 1975 in Rom erschienen, umfasst Stephanie Ourslers Künstlerinnenbuch 5 Cuts eine Serie von Abbildungen in schwarz-weiß, versehen mit einem handschriftlichen Text der Künstlerin. Bei den Bildern handelt es sich um Filmstills aus Stummfilmen, die Stephanie Oursler gefunden und mit ihren eigenen poetisch-autobiographischen Texten kombiniert hatte. So entsteht eine offene Erzählung über ihr Leben, die gleichermaßen intime Erinnerung wie literarische Konstruktion ist. Stephanie Oursler war in unterschiedlichen feministischen Gruppen und Netzwerken der 70er Jahre in Rom aktiv – so spiegelt sich auch in ihrem künstlerischen Vokabular eine für diesen Kontext typische Vorgehensweise: Politisches artikuliert sich in Form von persönlicher Erinnerung, Geschichte und Fiktion. 5 Cuts verwebt das Persönliche mit dem Politischen, um etwas auszudrücken, das jenseits von Sprache und Bildern verortet ist.

Stephanie Oursler (*1938, Baltimore, USA, † 2018, Mailand, Italien) kam Anfang der 70er Jahre nach Rom aus New York, wo sie als Aktivistin an der Bürgerrechts- und Frauenbewegung teilnahm. 1976 gründete sie unter anderem mit Carla Arcadi und Suzanne Santoro die Cooperativa del Beato Angelico, einen ausschließlich von Frauen betriebenen Ausstellungsraum in Rom. 5 Cuts wird hier in seiner ursprünglichen Form neuveröffentlicht und um einen Text der Kunsthistorikerin Giovanna Zapperi erweitert.

5 Cuts ist das erste Buch in der Reihe Re:Re. In ihr erscheinen Reprints von historischen Werken, deren künstlerische und politische Positionierung wir für den heutigen Kontext relevant finden. Re:Re wird herausgegeben von Verena Buttmann, Johanna Klingler, Jonas von Lenthe und Max Stocklosa.

Text: Italo Mussa (1975), Giovanna Zapperi (2021)
Gestaltung der Reihe: HIT

22€
November 2021
ISBN 978-3-948200-05-3
17 x 24 cm cm
72 Seiten
37 s/w Fotografien
Englisch, Italienisch
fadengeheftete Broschur

0 of 0
Steffen Zillig
The Decolonization of America

In the not too distant future, ...

Steffen Zillig
The Decolonization of America

In the not too distant future, having completed the genetic decoding of its population, the government of the United States of America decides to send those from elsewhere back out into the world. This is a remarkable attempt to re-establish society as it was before the devastating conquest of the American continent by European immigrants. Soon, convoys of “Euro-Americans” are migrating back to Europe, even though it has been decades since they had any contact with the cranky landmass beyond the Atlantic. Because Europe has long since cut itself off, wanting nothing more to do with the rest of the world. And then, all of a sudden, American refugee boats appear off the French coast...

In The Decolonization of America, Steffen Zillig creates a fictional future by collaging fragments of popular culture, combining excerpts from old and new adventure comics with washed-out photographs from the Internet. The result is a social fantasy whose bizarre fault lines and conflicts bear an uncanny resemblance to those of the present day.

Steffen Zillig makes art. He is part of Briefing Room, an artist-run space in Brussels, and he edits the underground magazine Intercity. He works in Hamburg and is a member of a union.

Zur deutschen Originalversion

Published in collaboration with AKV Berlin

10€
November 2021
ISBN 978-3-948200-07-7
21 x 28,5 cm
32 pages
36 colour ills.
English
thread-sewn paperback

0 of 0
Steffen Zillig
Die Dekolonisierung Amerikas

In nicht allzu ferner Zukunft entschließt...

Steffen Zillig
Die Dekolonisierung Amerikas

In nicht allzu ferner Zukunft entschließt sich die Regierung der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika, die zugewanderten Teile ihrer nun vollständig genetisch decodierten Bevölkerung zurück in die Welt zu schicken. Es ist der bemerkenswerte Versuch, eine Gesellschaft wiederherzustellen, wie sie vor der verheerenden Eroberung des amerikanischen Kontinents durch europäische Einwanderer herrschte. Also ziehen bald Konvois von „Rückwanderern“ nach Europa, obwohl seit Jahrzehnten kein Kontakt mehr zu dem schrulligen Erdteil jenseits des Atlantiks besteht. Denn Europa hat sich eingeigelt und will vom Rest der Welt schon lange nichts mehr wissen, als plötzlich amerikanische Flüchtlingsboote die französische Küste erreichen...

In Die Dekolonisierung Amerikas erzählt Steffen Zillig eine fiktive Zukunft aus kleinteilig collagierten Versatzstücken der Populärkultur. Dafür kombiniert er Ausschnitte aus alten und neuen Abenteuercomics mit verwaschenen Fotografien aus dem Internet. Dazwischen entspinnt sich eine Sozialfantasie, deren abenteuerliche Verwerfungen und Konfliktlinien denen der Gegenwart verblüffend ähnlich werden.

Steffen Zillig macht Kunst. Mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen betreibt er den Briefing Room in Brüssel und gibt das Künstlermagazin Intercity heraus. Er arbeitet in Hamburg und ist Mitglied einer Gewerkschaft.

Presse: Deutschlandfunk Kultur

English version available here

Erschienen in Kooperation mit AKV Berlin

10€
November 2021
ISBN 978-3-948200-06-0
21 x 28,5 cm
32 Seiten
36 Farbabbildungen
Deutsch
klebegebundene Broschur

0 of 0
Side Magazine: The Professor
Yasmine d'O. (ed.)

Side Magazine ist das Publikationsorgan der ...

Side Magazine: The Professor
Yasmine d'O. (ed.)

Side Magazine ist das Publikationsorgan der vierten Bergen Assembly, einer Triennale für zeitgenössische Kunst in der norwegischen Stadt Bergen. Unter der Leitung des Künstlers Saâdane Afif wurde Yasmine d’O eingeladen, die Triennale zu kuratieren. Sie ist auch die Herausgeberin des Magazins.
Jede Ausgabe widmet sich einer der sieben Figuren aus The Heptahedron (2016), einem Theaterstück des französischen Lyrikers und Essayisten Thomas Clerc. In der Reihenfolge ihres Erscheinens sind diese Figuren der Professor, die Mopedfahrerin, der Bonimenteur, die Wahrsagerin, die Akrobat:innen, der Bergarbeiter und die Touristin.
Das erste Heft, The Professor Issue, beinhaltet sieben Artikel, die sich mit der Identität, Rolle und Position der Professor:in auseinandersetzen. Mit Beiträgen von Uli Aigner, Lili Reynaud Dewar, Jörg Heiser, Christian Nyampeta, Vivian Slee und Marjorie Senechal.

Sieben Ausgaben von Side Magazine erscheinen im Vorfeld der Eröffnung der Bergen Assembly im September 2022. Eine achte Spezialausgabe erscheint nach der Eröffnung. Diese wird gemeinsam mit den bereits erschienenen sieben Ausgaben den Ausstellungskatalog bilden.

Herausgeberin: Yasmine d'O.
Konzept: Saâdane Afif
Beitragende: Uli Aigner, Lili Reynaud Dewar, Jörg Heiser, Christian Nyampeta, Vivian Slee und Marjorie Senechal
Design: Neue Gestaltung, Berlin

7€
August 2021
ISBN 978-3-948200-04-6
28 x 21 cm
74 Seiten
45 Farbabbildungen.
18 s/w-Abbildungen
Englisch
Rückstichheftung

0 of 0
Rejected. Designs for the European Flag
Jonas von Lenthe (Hrsg.)

Die Flagge mit den zwölf gelben Sternen ...

Rejected. Designs for the European Flag
Jonas von Lenthe (Hrsg.)

Die Flagge mit den zwölf gelben Sternen auf blauem Grund ist heute das unverkennbare Symbol für Europa. 1955 vom Europarat eingeführt, steht sie seither für die Vereinigung der europäischen Nationalstaaten. Der gelbe Sternenkreis setzte sich damit gegen über 150 Flaggenideen durch, die unterschiedliche Privatpersonen bis dahin an den Europarat gesendet hatten. Diese farbenfrohen Entwürfe werden in Rejected zum ersten Mal veröffentlicht. Sie dokumentieren den Zeitgeist des Kontinents in einer entscheidenden Entwicklungsphase der europäischen Einheit. Neben den Flaggenentwürfen enthält das dreisprachige Buch (englisch, deutsch, französisch) einen Textbeitrag der Dichterin und Schriftstellerin Marie Rotkopf, die mit beißender Ironie gegen den Zynismus der neoliberalen EU-Politik und den Machtausbau Deutschlands anschreibt.

Presse:
It's Nice That
Süddeutsche Zeitung
Junge Welt
Arts of the Working Class
Le Monde diplomatique

Design: We Became Aware
Text: Marie Rotkopf

16€
Oktober 2020
ISBN 9783948200039
18 x 11 cm
192 Seiten
Zahlreiche Farbabbildungen
Englisch, deutsch, französisch
Fadengeheftete Broschur

0 of 0
Verena Buttmann
Die Schlantz, die Kured, die Kon

„Hhhh Minne, fort mit dir, sie kommt! ...

Verena Buttmann
Die Schlantz, die Kured, die Kon

„Hhhh Minne, fort mit dir, sie kommt! Die Deadline endet in fünf Minütchen. Wenn die Mayonnage mitbekommt, dass ich jetzt erst anfange. Hoah mein Herz fängt Feuer. Mach den Vorhang zu, ja.”

Wenn sich die Mayonnage nähert, wächst die Erregung. Ohne dass sie je eine greifbare Gestalt annimmt, liegt ihre Anwesenheit in Verena Buttmanns Hörstück „Die Schlantz, die Kured, die Kon“ über dem Alltagsgeschehen. Die Mayonnage ist vieles: Gegenstand der Furcht, die letzte Rettung, ein Zustand der Unterdrückung, die Brücke in eine abgelegene Welt oder eine traumhafte Projektion.
Auf ihrer Schallplatte entwirft die Künstlerin Verena Buttmann einen sozialen Kosmos zwischen bühnenhafter Inszenierung und privatem Raum. Ein dialogisches Gedicht und ein szenisches Musikstück offenbaren ein Geschehen, das einer eigentümlichen zeitlichen Dimension und Sprachlogik folgt. Verena Buttmann führt Sprache an den Rand der Bedeutung, wo sich ihre musikalische Qualität entfaltet.

Die Publikation enthält neben einer 7’ Schallplatte eine Broschüre mit dem Originaltext auf Deutsch und der englischen Übersetzung, sowie einen Download link.

verenabuttmann.bandcamp.com

Text, Komposition, Stimme: Verena Buttmann
Grafikdesign: Johannes Hucht
Fotografie: Robert Hamacher
Mastering: Mark Soo
Übersetzung: Dylan Spencer-Davidson

14€

November 2019
ISBN 9783948200022
7" Vinyl mit 8-seitiger Broschüre und Downloadlink
19 x 19 cm
Deutsch, Englisch
Auflage von 200

0 of 0
Kyrill Constantinides Tank
Janus Neinus Vielleichtus

Während seiner Arbeit im Museumsshop ...

Kyrill Constantinides Tank
Janus Neinus Vielleichtus

Während seiner Arbeit im Museumsshop zeichnet der Künstler und Lyriker Kyrill Constantinides Tank auf postkartengroße Schmierzettel, was ihm in den Sinn oder vor die Augen kommt. Die Zeichnungen betitelt er mit „Der neue Kollege“, „wie mich meine Chefin sieht, wenn ich sauer bin“, oder „Daniel Richter verliert den Draht zur Jugend“. Sie bilden Szenen des Arbeitsalltags im Museum ab oder Ideen, auf die man nur dort kommt und erzählen aus dem Leben des Künstlers zwischen Lohnarbeit und künstlerischem Schaffen. Doch nicht nur seinen subjektiven Blick, sondern auch das höchst Allgemeine bringt Constantinides Tank zu Papier: Garfield, Twipsy, Glurak und die Simpsons sind für alle da und wurden genauso schon unzählige Male gezeichnet. Wenn auf der Zeichnung ein Pflaster klebt, oder sie, wie etwa bei „Fidget-Spinner Drawing“ – offensichtlich das Ergebnis eines Versuchs, mithilfe eines Fidget Spinners zu zeichnen – zum technischen Experiment wird, dann lässt sich erahnen, dass der Autor ganz in der Malerei zuhause ist und sich gleichzeitig mit ihren Möglichkeiten und Grenzen auseinandersetzt. Indem er sie zeichnet, bezwingt Kyrill Constantinides Tank, in der Tradition einer bayrischen Antibürgerlichkeit, die Dämonen und Banalitäten des Alltags, der Massenmedien und der Kunstgeschichte.
Kyrill Constantinides Tank ist Künstler, Dichter und Mitarbeiter in einer Filiale der Buchhandlung Walther König. Er ist Preisträger des 26. Open Mike in der Sparte Lyrik und lebt in München.

Kostenloses PDF:
Janus_Neinus_Vielleichtus.pdf

Design: Rana Karan

22€
Juni 2019
ISBN 9783948200015
17 x 24 cm
312 Seiten
zahlreiche schwarz-weiß und Farbabbildungen
deutsch, englisch
fadengeheftete Broschur
Auflage von 400

0 of 0
Franco Leidi
Return

Die Publikation Franco Leidi: Return ...

Franco Leidi
Return

Die Publikation Franco Leidi: Return erscheint anlässlich der Retrospektive und ersten Ausstellung des Künstlers Franco Leidi in Italien. Leidi, 1933 in Mailand geboren und aufgewachsen in Genua, emigrierte in den 1970er Jahren nach Schweden, wo er als Künstler eine breite Beachtung fand – in seinem Geburtsland Italien dagegen wurde seine Arbeit bis zu seinem Tod im Jahr 2008 kein einziges Mal ausgestellt. Die Arbeiten des Künstlers, der sich zum Kommunismus bekannte und auf den die Kindheitserfahrungen im faschistischen Italien während des zweiten Weltkriegs starken Einfluss hatten, umfassen Kupferstichdrucke, Malereien, Skulpturen, Fotografien und Collagen. Während seine späten Arbeiten – Portraits in Wasserfarbe, die oft durch Collagen erweitert sind – ein komplexes ikonografisches Referenzsystem aufweisen, sind viele seiner frühen Arbeiten – Tuschezeichnungen und Kupferstiche – durchzogen von vielschichtigen Darstellungen der Macht und Unterdrückung: Männer, Frauen, Möbel und Werkzeuge sind Gefangene in einem hermetischen System, in dem sie sich gegenseitig Gewalt zufügen und gegen das sie zugleich ankämpfen.
„Franco Leidi: Return“ nimmt die Rückkehr des Künstlers nach Italien zum Anlass, seine Arbeiten mit den Augen der heutigen Zeit zu beleuchten und deren Relevanz im Kontext unserer gesellschaftlichen Gegenwart zu zeigen. Die Publikation beinhaltet neben zahlreichen Farb- und Schwarzweißabbildungen Texte von Viana Conti, Leslie Johnson und Jorgen Svensson.

Herausgeberinnen: Verena Buttmann, Leslie Johnson
Text: Verena Buttmann, Viana Conti, Leslie Johnson, Jorgen Svensson
Design: Studio Yannick Nuss

30€
März 2019
ISBN 9783948200008
21 x 29,7 cm
184 Seiten
120 schwarz-weiß- und 25 Farbabbildungen
Englisch, italienisch
fadengeheftete Broschur
Auflage von 500

Hello, welcome to our web shop!

Please type in your name, email, and address below. Once you click Send Order, an invoice with the given amount will be sent to you via email. Your order will be shipped within two work days with DHL/ Deutsche Post.

If you have any questions or would like to specify your order, please get in touch.

Thanks!

0 of 0
7€  add to cart
Side Magazine: The Moped Rider
Yasmine d'O. (ed.)

What are you hiding under your helmet, dear Moped Rider? ...

Side Magazine: The Moped Rider
Yasmine d'O. (ed.)

What are you hiding under your helmet, dear Moped Rider? Where will your wanderings lead and what encounters might they bring?

The second issue of Side Magazine is dedicated to the manifold figure of the Moped Rider, which is approached differently by the seven contributors. These include the film critic Lars Ole Kristiansen, who follows Nanni Moretti’s vespa through Rome in the movie Caro Diario (1993), playing the role of a tourist in his own life. A reprinted chapter from Michele Bernstein’s autofiction novel All the King’s Horses (1960), tells the tale of late-night meanderings through Paris, and Kristian Vistrup Madsen addresses the changing intimacy between the musing figures in Caspar David Friedrich’s series of paintings Two Men Contemplating the Moon (1819–c. 1830). Side Magazine’s executive editor Yasmine d’O. is in conversation with curators Marcella Lista and Lou Ferrand about the place and movement of visitors in exhibition spaces.

The full list of contributors includes: Haci Akman, Michèle Bernstein, Lou Ferrand, Pierre-Henry Frangne, Patrick Jagoda, Yasmine d’O., Lars Ole Kristiansen, Marcella Lista, and Kristian Vistrup Madsen.

Side Magazine is conceived of as a site of research, each issue giving shape to one of the seven characters that will be staged at Bergen Assembly in 2022, convened by artist Saâdane Afif.

www.bergenassembly.no

Executive Editor: Yasmine d'O.
Concept: Saâdane Afif
Design: Neue Gestaltung, Berlin
7€
January 2022
ISBN 978-3-948200-08-4
28 x 21 cm
84 pages
Numerous colour and b/w ills.
English
Saddle-stitched softcover

0 of 0
22€  add to cart
Stephanie Oursler
5 Cuts

Stephanie Oursler’s 5 Cuts, an artist book ...

Stephanie Oursler
5 Cuts

Stephanie Oursler’s 5 Cuts, an artist book originally self-published in 1975 in Rome, comprises a series of black and white images accompanied by a handwritten text. The artist had found the displayed images – stills from unidentified silent films – and combined them with her autobiographical writing, creating both an intimate recollection and a literary construction of her own life. Stephanie Oursler’s artistic vocabulary tells of her active participation in women’s groups and networks in Rome, in which political issues were addressed via a distinctive articulation between memory, history and fiction. 5 Cuts weaves together the personal and the political to speak about something that lays beyond language and image.

Stephanie Oursler (*1938, Baltimore, USA, † 2018, Milan, Italy) arrived in Rome in the early 1970s from New York, where she had been an activist in the civil rights and in the women’s liberation movements. In 1976, together with Carla Arcadi, Suzanne Santoro and others, she co-founded the Cooperativa del Beato Angelico, an all-women exhibition space in Rome. 5 Cuts is here reprinted in its original form and expanded by a text by the art historian Giovanna Zapperi.

5 Cuts is the first title from Re:Re. This series of reprints aims to make available historical material that we consider relevant today in both political and artistic terms. Re:Re is co-edited by Verena Buttmann, Johanna Klingler, Jonas von Lenthe and Max Stocklosa.

Text: Italo Mussa (1975), Giovanna Zapperi (2021)
Designer of the series: HIT

22€
November 2021
ISBN 978-3-948200-05-3
17 x 24 cm cm
72 pages
37 b/w photographs
English, Italian
thread-sewn paperback

0 of 0
10€  add to cart
Steffen Zillig
The Decolonization of America

In the not too distant future, ...

Steffen Zillig
The Decolonization of America

In the not too distant future, having completed the genetic decoding of its population, the government of the United States of America decides to send those from elsewhere back out into the world. This is a remarkable attempt to re-establish society as it was before the devastating conquest of the American continent by European immigrants. Soon, convoys of “Euro-Americans” are migrating back to Europe, even though it has been decades since they had any contact with the cranky landmass beyond the Atlantic. Because Europe has long since cut itself off, wanting nothing more to do with the rest of the world. And then, all of a sudden, American refugee boats appear off the French coast...

In The Decolonization of America, Steffen Zillig creates a fictional future by collaging fragments of popular culture, combining excerpts from old and new adventure comics with washed-out photographs from the Internet. The result is a social fantasy whose bizarre fault lines and conflicts bear an uncanny resemblance to those of the present day.

Steffen Zillig makes art. He is part of Briefing Room, an artist-run space in Brussels, and he edits the underground magazine Intercity. He works in Hamburg and is a member of a union.

Press (DE): Deutschlandfunk Kultur

Zur deutschen Originalversion

Published in collaboration with AKV Berlin

10€
November 2021
ISBN 978-3-948200-07-7
21 x 28,5 cm
32 pages
36 colour ills.
English
thread-sewn paperback

0 of 0
10€  add to cart
Steffen Zillig
Die Dekolonisierung Amerikas

In nicht allzu ferner Zukunft entschließt...

Steffen Zillig
Die Dekolonisierung Amerikas

In nicht allzu ferner Zukunft entschließt sich die Regierung der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika, die zugewanderten Teile ihrer nun vollständig genetisch decodierten Bevölkerung zurück in die Welt zu schicken. Es ist der bemerkenswerte Versuch, eine Gesellschaft wiederherzustellen, wie sie vor der verheerenden Eroberung des amerikanischen Kontinents durch europäische Einwanderer herrschte. Also ziehen bald Konvois von „Rückwanderern“ nach Europa, obwohl seit Jahrzehnten kein Kontakt mehr zu dem schrulligen Erdteil jenseits des Atlantiks besteht. Denn Europa hat sich eingeigelt und will vom Rest der Welt schon lange nichts mehr wissen, als plötzlich amerikanische Flüchtlingsboote die französische Küste erreichen...

In Die Dekolonisierung Amerikas erzählt Steffen Zillig eine fiktive Zukunft aus kleinteilig collagierten Versatzstücken der Populärkultur. Dafür kombiniert er Ausschnitte aus alten und neuen Abenteuercomics mit verwaschenen Fotografien aus dem Internet. Dazwischen entspinnt sich eine Sozialfantasie, deren abenteuerliche Verwerfungen und Konfliktlinien denen der Gegenwart verblüffend ähnlich werden.

Steffen Zillig macht Kunst. Mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen betreibt er den Briefing Room in Brüssel und gibt das Künstlermagazin Intercity heraus. Er arbeitet in Hamburg und ist Mitglied einer Gewerkschaft.

English version available here
.

Erschienen in Kooperation mit AKV Berlin

10€
November 2021
ISBN 978-3-948200-06-0
21 x 28,5 cm
32 Seiten
36 Farbabbildungen
Deutsch
klebegebundene Broschur

0 of 0
7€  add to cart
Side Magazine: The Professor
Yasmine d'O. (ed.)

Side Magazine is conceived as a site of research...

Side Magazine: The Professor
Yasmine d'O. (ed.)

Side Magazine is conceived as a site of research for the fourth edition of Bergen Assembly convened by Saâdane Afif. Yasmine d’O., who has been invited as curator of the upcoming edition, will be the executive editor. Side Magazine is dedicated to the seven characters in The Heptahedron, a play written by the French poet, essayist, and scholar Thomas Clerc in 2016. In order of apparition these characters are the Professor, the Moped Rider, the Bonimenteur, the Fortune Teller, an Acrobats, the Coalman, and the Tourist.
The first issue of Side Magazine is dedicated to the figure of the Professor. It features seven articles, each of which explores the identity, role, and position of the Professor. Contributors include Uli Aigner, Lili Reynaud-Dewar, Jörg Heiser, Christian Nyampeta, Marjorie Senechal, and Vivian Slee.

Seven issues of Side Magazine will be released in the run up to the opening of Bergen Assembly 2022, opening September 8. A special eighth issue will be published after the opening days. This, combined with the existing seven issues as a collection, constitute the exhibition catalogue and guide.

Executive Editor: Yasmine d'O.
Concept: Saâdane Afif
Contributors: Uli Aigner, Lili Reynaud Dewar, Jörg Heiser, Christian Nyampeta, Vivian Slee und Marjorie Senechal
Design: Neue Gestaltung, Berlin

7€
August 2021
ISBN 978-3-948200-04-6
28 x 21 cm
74 pages
45 colour ills.
18 b/w ills.
English
saddle-stitched softcover

0 of 0
16€  add to cart
Rejected. Designs for the European Flag
Jonas von Lenthe (Ed.)

The flag bearing twelve yellow stars ...

Rejected. Designs for the European Flag
Jonas von Lenthe (Ed.)

The flag bearing twelve yellow stars on a blue background has become Europe’s most recognisable symbol. Since its introduction by the Council of Europe in 1955, it has stood for the unification of Europe’s nation states. It was precisely this yellow circle of stars that prevailed over more than 150 flag ideas sent to the Council of Europe by a host of diverse private individuals. These colourful designs are being now published in Rejected for the first time. They document the continent’s zeitgeist at a decisive period in the development of European unity. Alongside the flag proposals, the trilingual book (English, German, French) features a written contribution by the poet and writer Marie Rotkopf, who tackles the EU’s neoliberal political cynicism and Germany’s expansion of power with biting irony.

Press:
It's Nice That
Süddeutsche Zeitung
Junge Welt
Arts of the Working Class
Le Monde diplomatique

Design: We Became Aware
Text: Marie Rotkopf

16€
October 2020
ISBN 9783948200039
18 x 11 cm
192 pages
numerous colour illustrations
English, German, French
thread-sewn paperback

0 of 0
14€  add to cart
Verena Buttmann
Die Schlantz, die Kured, die Kon

"Hhhh Minne, off you go, she’s coming! ...

Verena Buttmann
Die Schlantz, die Kured, die Kon

"Hhhh Minne, off you go, she’s coming! The deadline is in 5 minuties. If the Mayonnage hears that I’m only just starting. Hoah my heart is catching fire. Close the curtain, yes."

As the mayonnage approaches, the excitement grows. Without ever taking on a tangible form, her presence in Verena Buttmann's audio piece "Die Schlantz, die Kured, die Kon" (The Slutch, The Khored, The Quee) lies above the scenario. The mayonnage is many things: the object of fear, the last salvation, a state of oppression, the bridge to a remote world or a dreamlike projection.
On her record, the artist Verena Buttmann creates a social cosmos between theatre-like staging and private space. A dialogical poem and a scenic piece of music reveal a narrative that follows a peculiar temporal dimension and linguistic logic. Verena Buttmann takes language to the edge of meaning, where its musical quality unfolds.

The publication contains a 7'' vinyl record, a brochure with the original text in German and the English translation, as well as a download link.

Listen online: verenabuttmann.bandcamp.com

Text, composition, vocals: Verena Buttmann
Graphic design: Johannes Hucht
Photography: Robert Hamacher
Mastering: Mark Soo
Translation: Dylan Spencer-Davidson

14€

November 2019
ISBN 9783948200022
7" Vinyl with 8 page booklet and download link
19 x 19 cm
German, English
Edition of 200

0 of 0
22€  add to cart
Kyrill Constantinides Tank
Janus Neinus Vielleichtus

Whilst working in a museum bookshop, ...

Kyrill Constantinides Tank
Janus Neinus Vielleichtus

Whilst working in a museum bookshop, artist and poet Kyrill Constantinides Tank draws on postcard-sized pieces of paper what he sees or comes to his mind. ”The New Colleague,“ ”How My Boss Sees Me, When I Am Angry,“ or ”Daniel Richter Loses Touch With the Youth“ show scenes of a work routine in the museum or ideas that arise in such a setting. They relate to a life between artistic creation and wage labour. But besides his subjective view, Constantinides Tank also brings the very common to paper: Garfield, Charizard and the Simpsons belong to everybody and have been drawn like this countless times. When there is a patch on the paper or the drawing itself becomes a technical experiment – as in ”Fidget-Spinner Drawing”: apparently the attempt to make a drawing with a fidget spinner – it becomes obvious that the author trained as a painter and constantly deals with the borders and possibilities of painting. By drawing them, Kyrill Constantinides Tank, in a Bavarian anti- bourgeois tradition, overcomes the daemons and banalities of labour, mass media and art history.
Kyrill Constantinides Tank is an artist and poet. He works in a Buchhandlung Walther König branch and is winner of the 26th Open Mike literature competition for poetry. He lives in Munich.

Press:
Sueddeutsche Zeitung

Design: Rana Karan

22€
June 2019
ISBN 9783948200015
17 x 24 cm
312 pages
numerous black-white and colour illustrations
English, German
thread-sewn paperback
Edition of 400

0 of 0
30€  add to cart
Franco Leidi
Return

The book Franco Leidi: Return ...

Franco Leidi
Return

The book Franco Leidi: Return is published on the occasion of the retrospective and first exhibition of the artist Franco Leidi in Italy. Born in 1933 in Milan and grown up in Genova, Leidi emigrated to Sweden in the 1970s, where he became an established artist. He never exhibited his work in his country of birth during his lifetime. The work of Franco Leidi, a self- declared communist who was profoundly influenced by his childhood experiences of World War II in fascist Italy, evolves from drawing, print and watercolour into sculpture and installation. While his late works – portraits in watercolour, often combined with collage – offer a complex iconographic reference system, his early production is characterized by multi-layered representations of power and oppression: men, women, furniture and tools are trapped in a hermetic system, in which they struggle against and exert violence upon one another. The erotic fantasies of a male subject, physical exercise and the simple beauty of a dialogue determine the play of these figures and objects; sometimes it is about life and death, sometimes about the banal being together.
Franco Leidi: Return takes the artist’s posthumous homecoming as an opportunity to examine his work through the lens of the present day and show its relevance to the current political and cultural context. Besides numerous black/white and colour images, the publication includes a foreword by Verena Buttmann and texts by Viana Conti, Leslie Johnson and Jörgen Svensson.

Editors: Verena Buttmann, Leslie Johnson
Text: Verena Buttmann, Viana Conti, Leslie Johnson, Jorgen Svensson
Design: Studio Yannick Nuss

30€
March 2019
ISBN 9783948200008
21 x 29,7 cm
184 pages
120 black-white and 25 colour illustrations
English, Italian
thread-sewn paperback
Edition of 500